Test Series

Harrison replaces Haskell in England's only change

England coach Eddie Jones has made just one change for his side's final Test in Australia, with Teimana Harrison handed a start in place of the injured James Haskell.

The tourists opened up an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series last weekend, retaining the Cook Cup with an impressive 23-7 victory in Melbourne.

However, Jones has resisted the urge to experiment in Saturday's final Test in Sydney. Northampton Saints flanker Harrison, who earned his only Test cap to date in last month's home victory over Wales, is included due to Haskell (foot) being unavailable.

"You have to work extremely hard to earn an England cap so there was no temptation to make changes for the sake of change. To play for England you have to be in the best 23 and that's what this selection represents," said Jones.

"Teimana comes into the side at seven for James Haskell, whose foot hasn't quite recovered from Saturday. Teimana has trained well throughout the tour and deserves his spot.

"He's an excellent defender and his robustness will be important to us at the start of the game. Jack Clifford is unlucky to miss out, but will finish the game for us."

Jones had underlined the importance of a 3-0 series victory for England immediately after their series-clinching triumph last Saturday.

"We've treated this week like a dress rehearsal for the World Cup because that what we're always building towards," he added.

"To win a World Cup you have to win three big games in a row - we've won two so this third game is the most important game we'll play all year. It will be a good indication of where we are as a team.

"We're looking forward to playing in front of a full house at Allianz Stadium and we are confident we can finish the job off with a win."


England team for third Test against Australia: Mike Brown, Anthony Watson, Jonathan Joseph, Owen Farrell, Jack Nowell, George Ford, Ben Youngs; Mako Vunipola, Dylan Hartley, Dan Cole, Maro Itoje, George Kruis, Chris Robshaw, Teimana Harrison, Billy Vunipola.

Replacements: Jamie George, Matt Mullan, Paul Hill, Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, Jack Clifford, Danny Care, Elliot Daly.