Test Series

Halfpenny ruled out of Wales tour, Warburton passed fit

Leigh Halfpenny has not recovered from a knee injury in time to feature in Wales' touring party that will play three Tests against New Zealand.

The full-back has not featured for Warren Gatland's side since before the Rugby World Cup when he damaged his anterior cruciate ligament in a warm-up match against Italy.

Halfpenny had hoped to feature for club side Toulon to earn a place on the Wales tour, but he suffered a setback last month when he needed further surgery.

There is better news on the fitness of captain Sam Warburton, though, as he was included despite suffering a shoulder injury during Cardiff Blues' match with Ospreys last month.

"We have picked a squad that is packed full of experience for what is going to be a challenging, but exciting five-match campaign," said Gatland, whose side will also face England prior to their departure.

"We will be facing the Six Nations champions at Twickenham first up and that will be an important start to the tour and will set the tone for the weeks ahead.

"We will have a bit of time together when we land in New Zealand before the first Test, then it's into three Test matches against the All Blacks plus a midweek match against the Chiefs.

"It is a great opportunity for us to test ourselves, build on the World Cup and the Six Nations and it’s a challenge we are all looking forward to.

"We are in a great position in terms of the experience in the squad, especially when you look at the age of most of the players, and this is going to be another important summer."

Wales, who begin their tour on June 11 at Eden Park, have never won a Test on New Zealand soil, their only victory over the All Blacks coming in 1953.

Squad in full:

Backs: Hallam Amos, Gareth Anscombe, Dan Biggar, Gareth Davies, Jonathan Davies, Tom James, Matthew Morgan, Tyler Morgan, George North, Rhys Priestland, Jamie Roberts, Eli Walker, Rhys Webb, Liam Williams, Lloyd Williams, Scott Williams.

Forwards: Scott Baldwin, Jake Ball, Luke Charteris, Kristian Dacey, Bradley Davies, Rob Evans, Taulupe Faletau, Tomas Francis, Paul James, Gethin Jenkins, Alun Wyn Jones, Rhodri Jones, James King, Samson Lee, Dan Lydiate, Ross Moriarty, Ken Owens, Ross Moriarty, Josh Turnbull, Sam Warburton.