Six Nations

England's Brown not cited for kicking Murray

Mike Brown has not been cited for making contact with Conor Murray's head with his boot during Saturday's Six Nations meeting between England and Ireland.

The full-back, who scored a try in a 21-10 success, kicked Ireland scrum-half Murray in the head while attempting to boot the ball out of the ruck in the final 10 minutes at Twickenham.

The incident left Murray requiring stitches, although after consulting with the television match official, referee Romain Poite judged the contact to be accidental.

It was confirmed on Monday by tournament organisers that he will not face any sanction.

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt did not believe Brown was attempting to hurt Murray, but called for the regulations to be reviewed.

A citation could have resulted in a ban for Brown, with England set to face Wales in a crunch clash at Twickenham as Eddie Jones' side aim to keep their grand slam hopes alive.

Elsewhere, Italy prop Martin Castrogiovanni has been cited for stamping on Scotland's Duncan Taylor during the visitors' 36-20 triumph in Rome on Saturday. His hearing is to be held on Wednesday.